Horizontal Vimeo/Youtube TIP

sannemaloe / 2011-09-08 07:14:07   

Hi all,

For a couple of sites I was working on, I looked for a solution to make Vimeo or Youtube video's scroll horizontally. I finally managed to do so, and I'm a bit of an amateur, so that says something. I combined two things i saw on this forum.

1: make longer image captions. You can do it the hard way as explained over HERE , but i did the 'simple' way by making the image title and image captions both 255. As explained HERE.

2: You upload an image with the width of your video widh and 1px high. (so 1px x 1014px) The image can be a .gif 100% transparent, but i used a white .jpg instead. In the 'image title' box, you paste the link of Youtube/Vimeo embed code.

That's it! Now you can combine video and images in a horizontal mode and also change the order. (i'm sure it workes in other formats as well, but i didn't try it yet).

For an example: check THIS

Hope it works out for you the same way it did for me!
And as I said before, I'm not so good at this yet, so I really don't know if i can answer your questions.

Sanne

sannemaloe / 2011-09-08 07:19:54   

OK so it works with Horizontal, Over and Over and Slideshow only.

pernin / 2011-09-24 04:20:56   

thanks for the hack: it's a good hack! :)

test results and comments:
http://index.bagofcats.net/formats/video-horizontal/

some considerations:

greyscale transparent gif will work in all circumstances, if you are making jpg it will have to be the same colour as your background (not necessarily white)

255 characters won't be enough for many embed codes, they can easily clock at around 400 characters, so it will be necessary to edit the database, change media_caption from tinytext to longtext