Multiple File Upload Is Here!!!

spumonty / 2011-11-22 10:58:09   

I've finally figured out how to select and upload multiple files at the same time. I'm very new to Indexhibit but love what it can do and it's simplicity. One of the main features I needed was multi file upload where you can select multiple files at the same time. During my endeavors to rebuild Indexhibit with a real multiple file upload script, I found a stupid simple fix. This fix is simple enough that anyone can do it, but I take no responsibility for this piece of code or what it may or may not do to your site.

After you add this piece of code you need to use an updated browser when you upload files in the back end. This does not mean that everyone who visits your website needs to use an updated browser, because visitors don't upload files. This should work in FireFox, Chrome and Safari. So if you use Internet Explorer, you're out of luck, as usual. Now on to the fun.

Open an FTP and download this file from your site:
"ndxz-studio/module/exhibits/index.php"

You are going to edit one line then re-upload this file to the same place on your site.

Open the "index.php" file in your favorite text editor. Preferably, use a text editor that shows line numbers, I like Scite or Notepad++.

Scroll down to line 604 and it should read the same as the line below. If it doesn't then you need to find this exact line of code.

1. $body .= "<input id='my_file_element' type='file' name='filename[]'>n";

You need to add ( multiple='') without the parenthesis, right before the triangle bracket (>). Make sure you use two single quotes at the end of multiple= and not a double quote. The new line should look like the code below.

1. $body .= "<input id='my_file_element' type='file' name='filename[]' multiple=''>n";

So, multiple='' should be right after name='filename[]' like this, name='filename[]' multiple=''