Images as Menu Titles

psbpsb / 2008-10-02 12:10:05   

Hellooo. I'm rather new to the coding of things but everything has gone well so far and my site works great thanks to Indexhibit.

One thing I'm trying to do however is with the menu. I'd like to replace the text with Images; jpeg, gifs for example.

And then possibly get this into an expandable menu! But that will come later i suspect.

I've read on the forum about having images instead of text menus and have even seen one indexhibit that uses this altought I've forgotten which it was. From what I've read I think that this may be a feature in the new indexhibit?

If it's possible to do now, where would I start? Or is this something for advanced coders?

Thanks very much.

Paul

Vaska A / 2008-10-02 12:22:53   

It's advanced...to put it simply.

psbpsb / 2008-10-02 12:43:25   

damn.

What about the update of indexhibit, will that have a simplified way of doing it?

I've seen some pretty complicated things people have done on here for it so if not I'll try and figure out what they've done.

redhood / 2008-10-02 17:23:16   

Psbpsb, you're just looking to change the section title right? If so check out this link: Tutorial: images as navi-titles.

psbpsb / 2008-10-02 18:35:29   

Hi Redhood. Thanks for the link, I had stumbled across this before. It's a shame they haven't provided images of what they're talking about.

also Dr_Osimo's link to what theyve doesn't have the images as titles right?

I'm going to have a crack at the first example with a new sample CSS and see what happens.

psbpsb / 2008-10-02 20:27:11   

Redhood, I've added this to my index.php in the plugin folder, edited the CSS as that Tutorial says but still cant seem to get it to work.

1. foreach($order as $key => $out)
  2.     {
  3. ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†$s .= "<ul class='$key'> n";
  5. ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†if ($out[0]['disp'] == 1) $s .= "<li class='section-title-$key'> <span> " .$key. " </span> </li>n";
  7. ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†foreach($out as $page)