Version 2 customization possibilities

dotyp / 2013-03-02 07:28:22   

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to Indexhibit and haven't done any website building or coding before. I know exactly how I want my portfolio site to look, but am not sure if I can get there with a) the lack of themes and plugins for V2 and b) my lack of coding knowledge. In essence, I want a centered website with slideshows sandwiched between my logo/name on top and a horizontal drop-down menu beneath. I've uploaded an image of this concept onto the main page of my site: patrickdoty.com.

I've been browsing the forum for a couple days and don't really know where to start if the default theme is the only option available. I'd greatly appreciate any advice!

Also, I installed one of the beta slideshow plugins and can't get the slideshow to go past the first image.

arsondpi / 2013-03-02 08:08:14   

Hello!

What you're after in the about page, will need coding skills.
So, you either make this into a challenge and learn code basics (that's ow I learned) or you get someone to help you out.
I guess you can use the Columner theme as a starting point (search for it in the Customize section of this forum)

Last but not least I've gone through your exhibits and I didn't find anything using the slideshow plugin. It's hard to tell if you don't post a page url with an example...

dotyp / 2013-03-02 15:30:02   

Thanks for your response!

Can I still use the Columner theme with Indexhibit 2? That's what I was thinking, but the Columner website says to install the theme at /ndxz-studio/site/, but in my FTP viewer, there is no "site" folder under "ndxzstudio." How would I install the theme?

My mistake... I've uploaded a few images under the exhibit titled "Swimming Holes" ... again, the images are there (at least in theory), but the slideshow navigation is not functional.

Thanks!

arsondpi / 2013-03-02 15:54:59   

Although still a beta: indexhibit.org/forum/thread/17627/
This is the Columner for Version2.