Problems using certain symbols

MaxColson / 2013-07-23 09:38:02   

Hello there,

Firstly, thanks for updating Indexhibit - it looks really nice.

I'm having problems using the '↑ ↓ → ←' symbols on my site. If I put them anywhere they are converted into questions marks, e.g. '?'

To try and resolve this I've checked over the main threads about this issue: after reading the following thread I changed my language encoding to UTF-8 but that didn't resolve the issue (indexhibit.org/forum/thread/6052/). I then tried to write the plugin which was suggested at the bottom of the thread but that hasn't solved it either (also when I try and paste the plugin coding into DreamWeaver it also says that there is a syntax issue on the second line):

Basically I'd really like to be able to use these symbols as they were my logo on a previous site; it's really important for my branding that I keep this continuity. Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance,

Max

PS: I am a complete novice at coding!

MaxColson / 2013-07-23 09:38:30   

oh and PS: my website is maxcolson.com

arsondpi / 2013-07-23 11:39:57   

Hello!

That's a Legacy version thread...
I guess the plugin needs updating.
The collation needs to be unicode general ci.

Nevertheless you tried encoding these characters?
↑ ↓ → ← is ↑ ↓ → ←

MaxColson / 2013-07-23 12:01:46   

Hello there,

thanks for getting back to me so quickly. When you say 'unicode general ci' do you mean 'utf8_general_ci' or 'utf8_unicode_ci'? Sorry for the dummy question but I can't find anything that exactly matches what you suggest as the right collation.

Additionally, when you say encoding what process is that; is it editing css.style?

I am a real beginner at this so please point me to things I can read up on if possible.

All best,

Max

arsondpi / 2013-07-23 14:25:40   

utf8_general_ci

Search the web for "encoding html characters"
You can use any kind of character encoded.
Try my example above in a text area box. See if it works.