Responsive Design for Mobile ?

kodcl20 / 2013-11-25 11:51:59   

I am brand new to Indexhibit and would like to know :
What's the best way to make Indexhibit Mobile Friendly ?

Cheers! N

kodcl20 / 2013-11-25 12:02:24   

Mobile Friendly meaning iPhone and Android...

Vaska A / 2013-11-25 12:07:48   

The current template is not great on mobile...maybe I can get some feedback from people?

What's better...

1. Indexhibit templates and formats become responsive
2. Indexhibit creates a new kind of layer specifically for mobile

The two are not the same. 1, would leave users to try to customize both mobile and web versions at the same time. These templates would get somewhat complicated.

2, would allow users to simply use a default mobile friendly version or try to customize it separately from the web version.

Personally, I think mobile needs a new template because some things, like Visual Index, don't work very well on a phone. I like option 2...

What do you think?

plocploc / 2013-11-25 12:43:59   

Hello

Right now I'm trying to modify my indexhibit to fit with the Ipad (sorry not exactly the mobile you thought about)

Because I have very little skills (i'm trying to fix an overlay bug : indexhibit.org/forum/thread/20204/ ;-)) I would appreciate a simple friendly version for IOS

Thanks

antonrodriguez / 2013-11-25 12:45:07   

I personally prefer option 1, but either would be great for indexhibit.

Vaska A / 2013-11-25 12:47:12   

anton, how good are you with html/css/javascript? the templates will become much more complicated than they are now - this worries me quite alot.

basically, we could have both options existing as well. i think two is a very quick way to deal with things. option 1 will take considerable time in some instances to achieve well.

@ploc: you don't need to advertise your thread this way. simply bump it or just wait a little bit - we'll respond.

arsondpi / 2013-11-25 13:18:45   

My vote goes to the second option.