please make it simple.

simonwaldron / 2008-10-27 23:03:02   

Hello, i'm new to indexhibit, and yes i'm a dumbass too. but i really think you could be dare i say it alittle bit clearer in your helpful hints. I've uploaded the file, changed the permissions, gone through the first confirmation but now i'm at the bit that asks for:
exhibition name, database server, database name, Database Username and Database Password. all the forum posts are cryptic. Maybe someone who has the neccesarry geekiness could kindly set it down in language a 2 year old might understand abit like this:
exhibition name? this isn't really important but...
database server? this is important and refers to the name of ..... and it usually begins like this and ends like this. here is an example of a made up one.

and so on and so forth. ah if only....

please geeks. make it so.

simonwaldron / 2008-10-27 23:05:42   

Is this a bit like geek pride. like a geek initiation where only the dedicated mind who toils and goes through much pain will prevail and make it to the bountiful shores of indexhibit websites...if so i think that sucks!

iwakami / 2008-10-28 00:02:08   

"Is this a bit like geek pride. like a geek initiation where only the dedicated mind who toils and goes through much pain will prevail and make it to the bountiful shores of indexhibit websites"

that's it! that's the answer you've been looking for! doesn't seem cryptic to me :D
see, this is the way to go to have a a new website in a cheap fashion.

first thing you need is a domain, like: www.hotpants.com or www.simonwaldron.org. use google to find whomever sells them.

then you need a webserver. this represents a online hard drive where you put geeky things like your website! webservers consists on a hard drive space + websiting technology. webservers also sells domains. make sure your webserver has the minimum requirements stated at the "how to install" section of this website.