thumbnails

heesco / 2009-03-22 08:28:12   

Hi,

i must be doing something wrong, cause when i upload images the thumbnails don't show at all, i get broken image holders. how can i fix this? i used firefox initially, but later tried it with safari and still don't work.
in firefox, when i upload an image it doesn't give me any thumbnails at all, it just says 'edit' instead of the thumbnails. in safari, it actually displays squares with question marks where the thumbnails should be. i'm pretty new to indexhibit, and have no idea about coding and css.
please help?

Vaska A / 2009-03-22 09:04:32   

Can you show us your site.

heesco / 2009-03-22 20:55:32   

http://www.heesco.net/
i had the images in 'over and over' gallery setting, as to avoid the thumbnail problem. i've changed it to 'grow' so you can see the problem.

Vaska A / 2009-03-22 21:30:36   

Not sure what's up but it's clearly a permissions issue...can't view the files on your site. It's beyond Indexhibit...and unfortunately...it might not work on your site.

heesco / 2009-03-22 23:11:14   

oh noooo...
permissions issue with my internet service providers? i've checked with them about the specs and they told me that everything is fine. i can see the files once i click on the broken image holders, it's just the thumbnails are not working.

Vaska A / 2009-03-22 23:18:43   

We've seen this a few times...not all servers are the same even if they meet the same requirements.

The easy fix...go into your files and gimgs folders and change all the files to have permissions of 0644 - they they should work. BUT, you will still have the same problem every time you upload files (so you will need to do it each time).

Could you send me a note about this and I'll try to work with you directly to contact your host about this...I'd like to know why it doesn't work as well...

contact [at] indexhibit [dot] org

Vaska A / 2009-03-24 22:07:12