FTP hacked

janmussche / 2013-11-03 15:54:28   

My FTP login got hacked and apparently they removed all my folders containing the content of my website.

1. My indexhibit backoffice of my website still looks exactly the same as before, however the links on the homepage do not refer anymore to the content I see in the backoffice. What do I have to do to restore this link?

2. Obviously I am a novice and in a vain attempt to solve my above problem I made things worse: I moved the index.php from the root folder to another (don't ask me why...) and then put it back in the root folder (.../ndxz-studio). This had as a consequence that the website (geraldinevanwessem.com) is now completely down and you get a 'apache 2 test' page when you go there.

Can anyone help with 2 above issue? Thanks!
Jan

arsondpi / 2013-11-03 16:24:28   

What I see in the root directory is (likely) a test/splash server page.
We can't be of further help is you can't restore the files/folders to the right places.
As for the FTP login that has been hacked did you tell your host? How do you know that it has been hacked since the files were still the same.
There could have been a server crash of some sort that messed things up but then your host should know about this as well.

janmussche / 2013-11-03 16:42:00   

My host warned me about the hacking and changed the password for the FTP login, so this should be safe now.

The indexhibit installation was done by someone else and I was just used to uploading pictures in my indexhibit backoffice, very simple. However now everything still seems correct in the backoffice but not on the server and I have no idea how I can restore the link between backoffice and server.

Regarding the test/splash server page, I am afraid I don't know what this is. Before the homepage was still displayed correctly (even after the hacking) but after I moved the index.php file and put it back in its original folder, my website 'became' the test page.