Problem about icc profile suppression by indexhibit

jeromeartemis / 2017-09-21 17:20:29   

Hi,
I'm new to indexhibit, I'm photographer, and building a website for a friend.

I think I saw a very trouble thing which is the suppression of the icc profile embeded when uploading pictures.
The engine which seems also compressing the picture suppress the embeded profile.

As a pro photographer, I'm well informed about color management, and issues.

The normal thing we do, due to a not harmonized management of icc profiles on browsers, we usually embed the srgb1966 profile. For the browsers that recognize it (more and more now), no problem (with calibrated screens). For browsers that doesn't regnize it, they tend to be close as srgb for every profiles embeded in the picture.

The problem is different when there is no embeded profile (or if the profile is erased). The application (or here the browser) doesn't know what is the profile employed, and lot of browsers tends to use instead of srgb, the monitor profile. But every monitor profile is different, as they all use differents primary of colors.

So each time images are shown, on screen, even with perfectly calibrated screen, and color managed browser, they will differ from another configuration/user.

In my case, I can really see large shifts of colors, cause I use a wide gamut monitor, which has primaries RGB very far from each others. If I see srgb image with the assigned profile of my screen, there is a large shift.

I made a capture here :
img11.hostingpics.net/pics/…

And another of the problem itself :
img11.hostingpics.net/pics/…

I saw exactly the same problem by downloading some pictures from other indexhibit websites, of course, I tested on a few ones.

I hope you can take this into consideration, I think it would be very helpfull for a lot of people working with pictures, photographer, designer, creatives, artists, etc.

Thanks,

jeromeartemis

Vaska A / 2017-09-21 17:44:31