Internal Server Error

heidi1984 / 2018-01-16 18:03:59   

Hello -

Pardon if this thread is already somewhere - Im not an expert on this so IM VERY CONFUSED.

Currently my website is down - Im using Indexihbit with Godaddy and Im getting this error message when I got to my website.
Internal Server Error.

__

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator and inform them of the time the error occurred, and the actions you performed just before this error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Apache Server at heidipetty.com Port 80

HELP - what do I do!? Its been down for a couple days.

Thank you!

Vaska A / 2018-01-16 18:33:59   

Do you have a backup of your site? You could restore that...

This is likely either a database issue or your site has been hacked (sadly, it happens).

Databases can become unlinked from sites - if a login/password are changed and in some cases it just happens. You should check the login/password (/ndxzsite/config/config.php) and also the db user and make sure it has all privileges (Your host provides these tools).

Also, if they forced a server update on you - your site could simply need to be upgraded to newer Indexhibit code. You should ask them if they have done this recently.

If it was hacked, restoring your files is the first thing to try. Otherwise, you could reupload the system folder (/ndxzstudio) and the root index.php file and see what happens. From there, you should check the .htaccess file for odd code and the next step would be to go through the /ndxzsite 'plugins' and your theme folder looking for bad code and/or replacing those files, too. If you haven't customized your site much it's pretty easy.

That's where things begin - there are threads around here with more info, etc., on these things.

Vaska A / 2018-01-16 18:35:11