collapseable menu title as a link

jesshami / 2009-11-02 02:30:18   

Hi,

I'm using the collapsible menu on a site for a friend, and it works great (thank you to everyone who contributed to those posts). However I would like to be able to click on the menu title of and have it act as a link to a kind of splash page for that section.

Here is my site

and I would like clicking on the 'projects' to both expand the menu and bring you here

1. I managed to create the link by using this  
  2. $(document).ready(function projectLink() {
  3. var project_title = $("#menu li.section-title");
  4. project_title.click(function() {
  5.             window.location = "http://02ea5f1.netsolhost.com/indexhibitv070e/index.php?/projects/projects/";
  6.         });
  7.  });

But that wreaks havoc on the expandable menu and I'm a super newbie with javascript so I'm not sure how to resolve this. If you could point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!
Jess

arsondpi / 2009-11-02 10:05:01   

I'm no js expert as well but I think you need to bind both functions because one contradicts the other. You create a variable which is not a variable after all - all section titles would take you to the same link plus you have an extra bracket that creates an javascript error (get firebug for firefox).

1. $('#menu ul li.section-title:first-child').html("<a href='http://02ea5f1.netsolhost.com/indexhibitv070e/index.php?/projects/projects/'>Projects</a>");

This is a very quick and awful solution - it will only work for the first section title and there's no fallback if javascript is deactivated. Of course you can create a script that searches specific text in your code and replaces it with something else - thus aiming at each section title....
I can see serious coders dissin me for this one, Vaska and Leslie getting grey hair out of disppointment etc etc.
:-P
I'd post this in the jquery forum to be honest...

ivaniannoli / 2009-11-02 18:58:28