Embedding Tumblr

richardn / 2010-02-01 12:55:01   

Hi. I'm testing options for a straightforward news page.

I've tried (and rejected) the Simple News plugin (clunky), and Wordpress with the iFramed plugin (scrollbars). I'm now looking at using Tumblr, embedded with 'tumblr js' (something I picked up here, on the forum).

It works nicely, picking up the CSS I've already set up for Indexhibit, but it seems limited and I don't understand how i can expand it to include things like posting date.

Here's my quick test.

And here's an example of the functionality I'm after.

Any idea how Jody did it?

AUAN / 2010-02-01 13:08:01   

This works much better. Me and friend played around with it for our upcoming
site.

You might need to edit his JS to get the right functionality, but it's much better than tumblrs copy/paste JS link.

richardn / 2010-02-01 14:02:34   

Thanks AUAN. Looks very interesting. I'm a newbie, so not quite sure how to utilize this. I downloaded the JS, edited it to include my tumblr name, and uploaded it to my indexhibit's js folder. Then I created a new exhibit and entered this into the text box:

< script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.richardnicholson.com/indexhibit/ndxz-studio/site/js/tumblrBadge-1.1.js">

Nothing happening. Do I need to edit the index.php?

Thanks, Richard.

Vaska A / 2010-02-01 14:20:28   

Didn't somebody release a Tumblr plugin via the forum? I can't remember...it's not hard though...

richardn / 2010-02-01 15:13:33   

Hmm, if they did, I missed it searching 'Tumblr' - I just came up with a few lengthy discussions trouble-shooting scrollbar issues with the iFramed plugin, and a couple of references to Tumblr's embed tumblr js.

The other nice implementation of a blog (Wordpress) that I came across was here:

The Get Involved Blog

I think you (Vaska) set that up for them?